TuneIn’s Weekend Wrap

Did you miss me? As nice as a week on a beach was, it’s great to be back here at TuneIn and as this week draws to a close, you’re probably looking for some cool stuff to listen to this weekend. As always, we’ve got you covered.

First, a public service announcement. Having traveled to LA-LA-Land last weekend, I can report that you can’t move more than about 100 yards without seeing a sign for this, but in case you’ve been living on Mars (with your eyes shut and your fingers in your ears) CARMAGEDDON IS UPON US. Which is to say that the Sepulveda Pass project on the I-405 Freeway has reached a critical point where CalTrans needs to shut the freeway down between the 10 and 101 Freeways, effectively cutting off access to West LA from The Valley. So whether you’re in LA and just trying to get from Reseda to LAX, or you’re like me and want to have a hearty laugh at the fact that a 10-mile freeway closure can paralyze a large American city, you can TuneIn to KNX 1070 News Radio Los Angeles for all the latest updates all weekend long. (And if you need a getaway from the hectic traffic, check out Indie 103.1 from LA, especially Jose Maldonado’s Breakfast with the Smiths program, airing at Noon ET/9am PT on Sunday.)

Across the pond at Royal St. George’s, Golf’s 140th Open Championship is well underway with Northern Ireland’s Darren Clarke and America’s Lucas Glover tied for the lead at -4. You can follow the final rounds of exciting golf action thanks to our friends at BBC Radio 5 Live as they anchor wall-to-wall coverage from the course all weekend long. Play gets underway each day from Noon BST/7am ET/4am PT.

Meanwhile, the US Women’s National Soccer Team, following their epic wins against Brazil and France will play Japan in the World Cup Final, taking part in the game for the first time since their historic win at the Rose Bowl in 1999. ESPN Radio has just announced (as of this writing) that they will cover the game live and in full from Frankfurt am Main, and we’ll have it for you on TuneIn starting at 2:30pm ET/11:30am PT.

Finally, as we mentioned yesterday, we lost two stalwarts of alternative radio as WRXP in New York and Chicago’s Q101 went off the air this week. In their absence, Scott gave some recommendations about how to fill the void, and I’ll add one more. Check out WEQX, serving Albany, the Capital Region of Upstate New York and Southern Vermont and playing alternative favorites, deep tracks and emerging artists better than a lot of places out there. And enjoy!

However you spend your weekend, whether stuck in gridlock or laughing about it or anywhere in between, we hope you spend it with us! Did we miss something you’d like to see in The Wrap? Let us know! Drop us a line on Facebook or Twitter.

This entry was posted in Staff Favorites and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.