TuneIn’s Weekend Wrap

Before today’s wrap, we wanted to take a moment to express our condolences to the people of Norway, on this dark day in their history. As we mentioned this morning on Facebook and Twitter, for those wishing to follow the developing news from the attacks in Oslo and Utoya, we do have several resources in Norwegian, including P1 and Alltid Nyheter from state broadcaster NRK. For news in English, the BBC World Service has been providing updates throughout the day as well.

For those looking for a break from the horrific news of the day, TuneIn has several options throughout the weekend for great listening.

Just outside Philly in Camden, NJ (big thanks to Hector Santiago on Facebook for the geographical correction yesterday!), WXPN’s XPoNential Music Fest gets underway today with a lot of cool headlining acts from Emmylou Harris to Ted Leo & The Pharmacists to Ben Folds and much more taking the stage. You can go along for the ride as well as WXPN will broadcast the entire weekend’s music over their air throughout the afternoons and evenings all weekend. Meanwhile, our friends at KEXP in Seattle will be hosting the Capitol Hill Block Party with live performances all weekend from emerging local artists, like Handsom Furs and The Cave Singers. They’ll be broadcasting afternoons and evenings all weekend as well.

Across the pond at the home of cricket, Lord’s in London, the 2000th Test Match in the history of the sport is taking place with England and newly-crowned World Cup champions India playing all weekend in a matchup of – many would contend – the top two cricketing teams in the world. Play gets underway of 5 Live Sports Extra beginning each day at 11am BST/6am ET/3am PT. At the same time, half way around the world, preparations are well under way for this year Rugby World Cup to be played in New Zealand. Part of those preparations is a shortened version of the yearly Tri-Nations tournament of Southern Hemisphere nations. The tournament kicks off tomorrow with defending World Champions South Africa taking on perennial powerhouse Australia from Sydney. New Zealand’s Radio Sport will have live coverage from 9:40pm NZST/7:40pm AEST/10:40am BST/5:40am ET/2:40am PT. And for news from the States on the NFL Lockout (hopefully) coming to an end this weekend, keep it tuned to ESPN Radio and Fox Sports Radio.

Did we miss something you’re listening to this weekend? Let us know! Drop us line on Twitter or Facebook.

This entry was posted in News, Staff Favorites and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.